Crystal Ball by Styx

One of my most favorite Styx songs:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-0S3tTifcq0

Written by Tommy Shaw
Lead Vocals by Tommy Shaw

I used to like to walk the straight and narrow line
I used to think that everything was fine
Sometimes I’d like to sit and gaze for days through sleepless dreams
All alone and trapped in time
All alone and trapped in time

I wonder what tomorrow has in mind for me
Or am I even in it’s mind at all
Perhaps I’ll get a chance to look ahead and see
Soon as I find myself a crystal ball
Soon as I find myself a crystal ball

Tell me, tell me where I’m going
I don’t know where I’ve been
Tell me, tell me, won’t you tell me
And then tell me again
My heart is breaking, my body’s aching
And I don’t know where to go
Tell me, tell me, won’t you tell me
I’ve just got to know

Crystal ball
There’s so many things I need to know
Crystal ball
There’s so many things I’ve got to know
Crystal ball

[“extra verse” used occasionally live]
If you should see me walking
Through your dreams at night
Would you please direct me
Where I ought to be
I’ve been looking for a crystal ball
To shed the light
To find a future in me…
To find a future in me…

Crystal ball
There’s so many things I need to know
Crystal ball
There’s so many things I’ve got to know
Crystal ball

All of their songs are so great.  I started listening to Styx in 1977?  Whenever I get in a place in my mind where I feel so out of touch, I play their CD over and over again.  Styx 25th Anniversary is my favorite.  My 24 and 27 year old daughters know all of the lyrics as they had to listen to Styx while growing up.  There will be instructions at my funeral/celebration that Styx among other Rock and Roll music will be playing and loudly as it must be.  My neighbors think I’m crazy already when I play my music loud – how else can you listen to it?  Queens as well!

About crystallball7

Creative,some say "eccentric", dark sense of humor,sensitive. Never the same for too long. Running from lost time. Longing to be on the beach, at the ocean, New England. Afraid of life, extremely afraid of life.
This entry was posted in dissociative identity disorder, Mental Illness, psychology; M.P.D., D.I.D. and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

